Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Washington D.C. Film Critics Elect "The Social Network"

Didn't even know this group existed.  Just how many film critics groups and associations are there?  Well, as it has been for most of the still young awards season, The Social Network won another best picture honor:

Press release:

The Social Network Has Lots of Friends in D.C.

Colin Firth and Jennifer Lawrence Named Best Actors; The Fighter Sweeps Supporting Actor Categories

Washington, D.C. — The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) today announced their 2010 winners, awarding The Social Network Best Film, Best Director (David Fincher) and Best Adapted Screenplay (Aaron Sorkin). Colin Firth, who was nominated last year for A Single Man, won Best Actor this year for The King's Speech. Newcomer Jennifer Lawrence, who dazzled early in the year, took home Best Actress for her role in Winter's Bone.

The Fighter swept both Supporting Actor categories with awards given to Christian Bale as a drug addled ex-boxer and Melissa Leo as his controlling mother. Best Acting Ensemble went to The Town, director Ben Affleck's Boston crime drama.

"This was easily the most competitive ballot in the history of our association," said Tim Gordon, WAFCA president. "We have never had so many tight races. It just goes to show how popular several of these categories were with all of our members."

Best Documentary went to British street artist Banksy's Exit Through the Gift Shop, Best Foreign Film was awarded to Alejandro González Iñárritu's Biutiful, and Toy Story 3 pushed past several strong contenders for Best Animated Feature. In other categories, Inception scored big, winning Best Original Screenplay (Christopher Nolan), Best Cinematography (Wally Pfister), Best Art Direction (Guy Hendrix Dyas, Luke Freeborn, Brad Ricker and Dean Wolcott), and Best Score (Hans Zimmer).

The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association is comprised of 39 DC-VA-MD-based film critics from television, radio, print and the Internet. Voting was conducted from December 3-5, 2010.

The 2010 WAFCA Award Winners:

Best Film:
The Social Network

Best Director:
David Fincher (The Social Network)

Best Actor:
Colin Firth (The King's Speech)

Best Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence (Winter's Bone)

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale (The Fighter)

Best Supporting Actress:
Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

Best Acting Ensemble:
The Town

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)

Best Original Screenplay:
Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Animated Feature:
Toy Story 3

Best Documentary:
Exit Through the Gift Shop

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Art Direction:
Guy Hendrix Dyas, Luke Freeborn, Brad Ricker and Dean Wolcott (Inception)

Best Cinematography:Wally Pfister (Inception)

Best Score:
Hans Zimmer (Inception)

No comments:

Post a Comment