Sunday, February 21, 2010

Writers Guild of America Honors "The Hurt Locker," "Up in the Air"

Last night (Saturday, February 20, 2010), The Writers Guild of America Awards went to Up in the Air (best adapted screenplay) and The Hurt Locker (best original screenplay), the films that were expected to win. Thus, both films are leading contenders to win the Oscars in those respective categories.

However, at the Oscars, The Hurt Locker will also be up against two films that were disqualified from guild competition – Inglourious Basterds and Up, although I don’t expect either to win in this category.

In its category, Up in the Air will face off against three films disqualified by the WGA, Oscar nominees: An Education, District 9 and In the Loop, although, again, I don’t expect Up in the Air to lose to any of these films.

2010 Writers Guild of America Award Winners:


The Hurt Locker, Written by Mark Boal; Summit Entertainment

Other nominees: (500) Days of Summer, A Serious Man, Avatar, and The Hangover

Up in the Air, Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner; Based upon the novel by Walter Kirn; Paramount Pictures

Other nominees: Crazy Heart, Julie & Julia, Precious, and Star Trek.

The Cove, Written by Mark Monroe; Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions


Mad Men, Written by Lisa Albert, Andrew Colville, Kater Gordon, Cathryn Humphris, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Erin Levy, Marti Noxon, Frank Pierson, Robin Veith, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner; AMC

30 Rock, Written by Jack Burditt, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Vali Chandrasekaran, Tina Fey, Donald Glover, Steve Hely, Matt Hubbard, Dylan Morgan, Paula Pell, Jon Pollack, John Riggi, Tami Sagher, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner, Tracey Wigfield; NBC

Modern Family, Written by Paul Corrigan, Sameer Gardezi, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O'Shannon, Brad Walsh, Caroline Williams, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker; ABC

For a complete list of winners, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment