Thursday, December 13, 2012

L.A. Film Critics in Love with "Amour"

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is a professional organization of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. Since 1975, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards each December, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera.

38th Annual (2012) Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards:

Runner-up: "The Master"

BEST DIRECTOR: Paul Thomas Anderson, "The Master"
Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow ("Zero Dark Thirty")

BEST ACTOR: Joaquin Phoenix, "The Master"
Runner-up: Denis Lavant ("Holy Motors")

Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook and Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Dwight Henry, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
Runner-up: Christoph Waltz ("Django Unchained")

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, "The Master"
Runner-up: Anne Hathaway ("The Dark Knight Rises" and "Les Miserables")

Best Screenplay: Chris Terrio, “Argo"
Runner-up: David O. Russell ("Silver Linings Playbook")

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, "Skyfall"
Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr ("The Master")

Best Production Design: Jack Fisk and David Crank, "The Master"
Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen ("Moonrise Kingdom")

Best Editing: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Runner-up: William Goldenberg ("Argo")

Best Music Score: "Beasts of the Southern wild" by Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin
Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood ("The Master")

Best Foreign-Language Film: "Holy Motors" (from France) - Directed by Leos Carax
Runner-up: "footnote" (from Israel) directed by Joseph Cedar

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film: "The Gatekeepers" - directed by Dror Moreh
Runner-up: "Searching for Sugar Man" by Malik Bendjelloul

Best Animation: "Frankenweenie" – directed by Tim Burton
Runner-up: "It's Such a Beautiful Day" directed by Don Hertzfeldt

New Generation: Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Career Achievement: Frederick Wiseman

The Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award: "Leviathan"

No comments:

Post a Comment