Sunday, December 16, 2012

Boston Film Critics Name "Zero Dark Thirty" 2012's Best Film

The Boston Society of Film Critics was formed in 1981. The group claims that its mission is to make “Boston's unique critical perspective heard on a national and international level by awarding commendations to the best of the year's films and filmmakers and local film theaters and film societies that offer outstanding film programming.” One of the society’s members, Wesley Morris, won 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Criticism.

2012 Winners:

Best Picture - Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actor - Daniel Day Lewis for Lincoln

Best Actress - Emmanuelle Riva for Amour

Best Supporting Actor - Ezra Miller for Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best Supporting Actress - Sally Field for Lincoln

Best Director - Kathryn Bigelow for Zero Dark Thirty

Best Screenplay - Tony Kushner fro Lincoln

Best Cinematography - Mihai Malaimare Jr for The Master

Best Documentary - How to Survive a Plague

Best Foreign-Language Film - Amour

Best Animated Film - Frankenweenie

Best Film Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer) - William Goldenberg and Dylan Tichenor for Zero Dark Thirty

Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy) - David France for How to Survive a Plague

Best Ensemble Cast - Seven Psychopaths

Best Use of Music in a Film - Moonrise Kingdom

No comments:

Post a Comment