Saturday, December 21, 2013

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Chooses "12 Years a Slave"

by Amos Semien

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists, Inc. (AWFJ) present the annual EDA Awards “in recognition of outstanding accomplishments (the best and worst) by and about women in the movies.”

The AWFJ named director Steve McQueen's 12 Years a Slave the "Best Film" of 2013, for which McQueen also won "Best Director."  On the "women only" side of the awards, Nicole Holofcener won for directing and writing her film, Enough Said.

2013 EDA Award Winners
[ Statement from the AWFJ:  With sincerest appreciation for all the great work that’s been done in film this year, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 EDA Awards. Congrats to all!]


Best Film
•12 Years a Slave

Best Director (Female or Male)
•Steve McQueen - 12 Years a Slave

Best Screenplay, Original
•Her – Spike Jonze

Best Screenplay, Adapted
•John Ridley - 12 Years a Slave

Best Documentary
•Stories We Tell – Sarah Polley

Best Animated Film
•The Wind Rises - Hayao Miyazaki

Best Actress
•Cate Blanchett - Blue Jasmine

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
•Lupita Nyong’o - 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor
•Matthew McConaughey - Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
•Jared Leto - Dallas Buyers Club

Best Ensemble Cast
•American Hustle

Best Editing
•Gravity - Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger

Best Cinematography
•Gravity - Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Music Or Score
•Inside Llewyn Davis – T-Bone Burnett

Best Non-English-Language Film
•The Hunt – Thomas Vinterberg – Denmark

EDA FEMALE FOCUS AWARDS – These awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director
•Nicole Holofcener - Enough Said

Best Woman Screenwriter
•Nicole Holofcener - Enough Said

Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star
•Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Best Animated Female
•Anna (Kristen Bell) in Frozen

Best Breakthrough Performance
•Lupita Nyong’o - 12 Years A Slave

Actress Defying Age and Ageism
•Sandra Bullock – Gravity

AWFJ EDA Female Icon Award – (Presented to an actress for the portrayal of the most positive female role model, or for a role in which she takes personal and/or career risks to plumb the female psyche and therefore gives us courage to plumb our own, and/or for putting forth the image of a woman who is heroic, accomplished, persistent, demands her rights and/or the rights of others.)
•Angelina Jolie for continued commitments to humanitarian causes, and for promoting awareness about breast cancer.

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry – (Presented only when warranted to a female who has had a banner-making, record-breaking, industry-changing achievement during any given year.)
•Haaifa Al-Mansour for challenging the limitations placed on women within her culture by making the film Wadjda.


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award
•The Counselor – Ridley Scott

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent
•Cameron Diaz for The Counselor

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn’t Award
•The Counselor

Unforgettable Moment Award
•12 Years A Slave – Solomon Northrup hanging

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction Award
•Her - Scarlett Johansson and Joaquin Phoenix for their digital lovemaking.

Sequel or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award (Tie)
•Oz, Great and Powerful

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award
•Last Vegas – Michael Douglas and Bre Blair


No comments:

Post a Comment