Monday, December 9, 2013

L.A. Film Critics Tie on "Gravity" and "Her" as 2013's Best Picture

by Amos Semien

In a year of ties, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association named the films, Gravity and Her, as "Best Picture" of 2013.  However, when it came to "Best Director," Gravity's Alfonso Curon did not have to share with runner-up Spike Jonze of Her.  Other ties include "Best Actress," Cate Blanchett and Adèle Exarchopoulos; and "Best Supporting Actor," James Franco and Jared Leto.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is a professional organization of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media.  Since 1975, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards each December, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera.

39th Annual (2013) Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards:

BEST PICTURE: "Gravity" and "Her" (TIE)

BEST DIRECTOR:  Alfonso Cuarón, "Gravity"
Runner-up: Spike Jonze ("Her")

BEST ACTOR: Bruce Dern "Nebraska"
Runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor ("12 Years a Slave")

BEST ACTRESS: Cate Blanchett, "Blue Jasmine" and Adèle Exarchopoulos, "Blue Is the Warmest Color" (TIE)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: James Franco, "Spring Breakers," and Jared Leto, "Dallas Buyers Club" (TIE)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Lupita Nyong'o, "12 Years a Slave"
Runner-up: June Squibb ("Nebraska")

BEST SCREENPLAY: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan Hawke, “Before Midnight"
Runner-up: Spike Jonze ("Her")

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: Emmanuel Lubezki, "Gravity"
Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel ("Inside Llewyn Davis")

Runner-up: Jess Gonchor ("Inside Llewyn Davis")

BEST EDITING: Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger, "Gravity"
Runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery ("upstream color")

BEST MUSIC SCORE: T Bone Burnett, "Inside Llewyn Davis"
Runner-up: Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett ("HER")

BEST FOREIGN-LANGUAGE FILM: "Blue Is the Warmest Color" - Directed by Abdellatif Kechiche
Runner-up: "The Great Beauty" directed by Paolo Sorrentino

BEST DOCUMENTARY/NON-FICTION FILM: "Stories We Tell" - Directed by Sarah Polley
Runner-up: "The Act of Killing" by Joshua Oppenheimer, Anonymous, and Christine Cynn

BEST ANIMATION: "Ernest & Celestine" – Directed by Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar, and Benjamin Renner
Runner-up: "The Wind Rises" directed by Hayao Miyazaki

New Generation: Megan Ellison

Legacy of Cinema: Criterion Collection

The Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award: "Cabinets Of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce"

Special Citation: The creative team of "12 Years a Slave"


No comments:

Post a Comment