Monday, December 30, 2013

Florida Film Critics Choose "12 Years a Slave"

by Amos Semien

12 Years a Slave is the Florida Film Critics Circle "Best Picture" of 2013.  That honor is one of six won by the film including two notices for Lupita Nyong'o.

The Florida Film Critics Circle (FFCC) was founded in 1996 is comprised of writers from various state-based publications.

Complete list of 2013 FFCC Award winners:

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: American Hustle

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Joaquin Phoenix – Her

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Runner-up: Judi Dench – Philomena

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Runner-up: Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

Best Director: Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity

Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze – Her
Runner-up: David O. Russell & Eric Singer – American Hustle

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki – Gravity
Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Visual Effects: Gravity
Runner-up: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Art Direction/Production Design: The Great Gatsby
Runner-up: American Hustle

Best Foreign Language: Blue is the Warmest Color
Runner-up: The Hunt

Best Animated Film: Frozen
Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Documentary: The Act of Killing
Runner-up: Blackfish

Pauline Kael Breakout Award: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Michael B. Jordan – Fruitvale Station

Golden Orange:
Dana Keith of the Miami Beach Cinematheque for his tireless championing of foreign, independent and alternative film in South Florida for more than 20 years.


No comments:

Post a Comment