Monday, March 4, 2013

"War Witch" Tops 2013 Canadian Screen Awards

by Leroy Douresseaux

War Witch was named the “Best Motion Picture” of 2012 at the 2013 Canadian Screen Awards. Kim Nguyen, director of War Witch, won “Achievement in Direction.”

This was the inaugural Canadian Screen Awards, which honor achievements in Canadian film and television production, as well as achievements in digital media. In 2012, the formerly separate Genie Awards (for film) and Gemini Awards (for television) merged into a single ceremony, the Canadian Screen Awards.

War Witch, which is also known by its French-language name, Rebelle, swept away nearly all competition at the inaugural Canadian Screen Awards broadcast gala Sunday night (March 3, 2013). The Congo-set drama about child soldiers won in 10 of the 12 categories for which it was nominated.

War Witch’s teen star, Rachel Mwanza, won “Actress in a Leading Role.” Mwanza once lived on the streets of Kinshasa (the capital of the Democratic Republic of the Congo). Now, she is earning accolades internationally for her performance as Komona, a child forced to kill her parents and join a local warlord’s band of soldiers

The 2013 Canadian Screen Award winners:

Film categories:

Best Motion Picture: War Witch

Achievement in Direction: Kim Nguyen, War Witch

Actor in a Leading Role: James Cromwell, Still Mine.

Actress in a Leading Role: Rachel Mwanza, War Witch.

Actor in a Supporting Role: Serge Kanyinda, War Witch.

Actress in a Supporting Role: Seema Biswas, Midnight’s Children

Original Screenplay: Kim Nguyen, War Witch

Adapted Screenplay: Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children

Art Direction/Production Design: Emmanuel Frechette and Josée Arsenault, War Witch.

Make-Up: Colleen Quinton, Kathy Kelson, Michelle Cote, and Martin LaPointe, Laurence Anyways.

Costume Design: Xavier Dolan and François Barbeau, Laurence Anyways.

Cinematography: Nicolas Bolduc, War Witch.

Editing: Richard Comeau, War Witch.

Music - Original Score: Howard Shore, Cosmopolis.

Music - Original Song: Howard Shore, Emily Haines, James Shaw, “Long to Live” (from Cosmopolis)

Overall Sound: Claude La Haye, Daniel Bisson, Bernard Gariepy Stroble, War Witch.

Sound Editing: Martin Pinsonnault, Jean-Francois, B. Sauve, Simon Meilleur, and Claire Pochon, War Witch.

Feature Length Documentary Award: Sarah Polley and Anita Lee, Stories We Tell.

Short Documentary: Ariel Nasr and Annette Clarke, The Boxing Girls of Kabul.

Live Action Short Drama: Miranda de Pencier and Stacey Aglok MacDonald, Throat Song.

Animated Short: Dominic Étienne Simard and Julie Roy, Paula.

Visual Effects: Dennis Beradi, Jason Edwardh, Matt Glover, Trey Harrell, Leann Harvey, Jo Hughes, Ethan Lee, Scott Riopelle, Eric Robinson, and Kyle Yoneda, Resident Evil: Retribution.

Television categories:

Dramatic Series: Flashpoint.

Comedy Program/Series: Less Than Kind.

International Drama: The Borgias.

Lead Actor in a Dramatic Role: Enrico Colantoni, Flashpoint.

Lead Actress in a Dramatic Role: Meg Tilly, Bomb Girls.

Lead Actor in a Comedic Role: Gerry Dee, Mr. D.

Lead Actress in a Comedic Role: Wendel Meldrum, Less Than Kind.

Reality/Competition Program: Dragon’s Den.

News Anchor: Peter Mansbridge, CBC News The National.

Sports Host or Analyst: Brian Williams, London 2012 Olympic Games.

Host in a Variety, Lifestyle, Reality/Competition, Performing Arts or Talk Program: George Stroumboulopoulos, George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.

Previously announced awards:

Claude Jutra Award for Best First Feature Film: Jason Buxton, Blackbird.

Cineplex Golden Reel Award: Resident Evil: Retribution

Academy Special Film Award: Victor Loewy, former head of Alliance and Vivafilm.

No comments:

Post a Comment