Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Comics Review: RED SONJA Volume 6 #2

RED SONJA VOLUME 6 #2
DYNAMITE ENTERTAINMENT

STORY: Mirka Andolfo and Luca Blengino
ART: Giuseppe Cafaro
COLORS: Chiara Di Francia
LETTERS: Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou
EDITOR: Nate Cosby
COVER: Mirka Andolfo
VARIANT COVER ARTISTS: Jay Anacleto; Joseph Michael Linsner; Erica D'Urso; Brett Booth; Leslie Leirix; Tony Fleecs and Trish Forstner; Mirka Andolfo; Tabitha Lyons (cosplay)
32pp, Color, $3.99 U.S. (October 2021)

Rated Teen+

Based on the characters and stories created by Roy Thomas, Barry Windsor-Smith, and Robert E. Howard

“Mother” Chapter Two: “Vengeance for Two”


Conan the Barbarian #23 (cover dated: February 1973) saw the debut of a high fantasy, sword and sorcery heroine, Red Sonja.  Created by writer Roy Thomas and artist Barry Windsor-Smith, Red Sonja was loosely based on “Red Sonya of Rogatino,” a female character that appeared in the 1934 short story, “The Shadow of the Vulture,” written by Robert E. Howard (1906-1936), the creator of the character, Conan the Cimmerian.

Red Sonja remained a fixture in comic books from then until about 1986.  There have been several ongoing Red Sonja comic book series, and the latest, Red Sonja Volume 6, is under the guidance of popular Italian comic book creator, Mirka Andolfo.  It is written by Andolfo and Luca Blengino; drawn by Giuseppe Cafaro; colored by Chiara Di Francia; and lettered by Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou.  In this new series, Red Sonja accepts the bounty to bring a girl named “Sitha” to a broker who will send her to her true home.  The girl, however, becomes attached to Sonja and calls her mother.

As Red Sonja Volume 6 #2 (“Vengeance for Two”) opens, Sonja is grievously wounded from a battle with the vengeful forces of “Three-Eyed Shezem.”  Sitha, who has been revealed to possess great powers, practically drags the wounded She-Devil with a Sword in a desperate attempt to find help.  Later, Sonja awakens in the home of Samosh, a former military man who now lives a farm life.

As Sonja struggles to recover from her injuries, a bond grows between her and Sitha, and eventually Samosh is part of a circle that becomes something like a family.  As happy as they are, even Sonja knows that Sitha's fate awaits them.

THE LOWDOWN:   Dynamite Entertainment's marketing department recently began providing me with PDF review copies of some of their titles.  One of them is Red Sonja Volume 6 #2, which is the latest of several Dynamite Entertainment Red Sonja comic books that I have recently read.  This is also only the fourth issue of a Mirka Andolfo comic book that I have read.

In issue #1 of this series, Andolfo and Luca Blengino offered lots of Red Sonja-style ultra-violence.  In this second issue, they tease readers with a pastoral setting in which a family, of sorts forms.  Then, Sitha's fate intrudes, and by enveloping our imaginations in the mysteries of Sitha and of the people behind her, Andolfo and Blengino make us want to come back for more.  The mystery here is intriguing; just what is going on with this child?

Red Sonja Volume 6 is turning out to be a most unique and most intriguing Red Sonja series.  I think many of us will return for more.

I READS YOU RECOMMENDS:  Fans of Red Sonja and Mirka Andolfo will want to try Red Sonja Volume 6.

A-

Reviewed by Leroy Douresseaux a.k.a. "I Reads You"


https://twitter.com/DynamiteComics
https://www.dynamite.com/htmlfiles/
https://www.facebook.com/DynamiteComics/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNOH4PEsl8dyZ2Tj7XUlY7w
https://www.linkedin.com/company/dynamite-entertainment


The text is copyright © 2021 Leroy Douresseaux. All Rights Reserved. Contact this blog or site for syndication rights and fees.

--------------------


No comments:

Post a Comment