Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Comics Review: "Nita Hawes' NIGHTMARE Blog #7" - Jack's Back!


STORY: Rodney Barnes
ART: Szymon Kudranski
COLORS: Luis Nct with mar and Silvestre Galotto
LETTERS: Marshall Dillon
EDITOR: Greg Tumbarello
COVER: Syymon Kudranski
VARIANT COVER ARTISTS: Jason Shawn Alexander with Luis Nct
28pp, Colors, 3.99 U.S. (August 2022)

Rated “M/ Mature”

Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog created by Rodney Barnes and Jason Shawn Alexander

“Murder By Another Name” Part I: “A Date with the Ripper”

Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is a comic book series created by Rodney Barnes and Jason Shawn Alexander.  Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is written by Barnes.  The current artist is Szymon Kudranski.  Colorist Luis Nct and letterer by Marshall Dillon complete the creative team.  The series focuses on a woman who is on a quest to root out evil by helping the people who contact her blog.

In Baltimore, Maryland, which some call “Bodymore, Murderland,” there is a woman named Dawnita “Nita” Hawes.  She is the owner of “Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog” where citizens can contact Nita when they have a problem of a supernatural or paranormal nature.  Nita has just begun her quest to root the evil out of her city – with the help of her dead brother, Jason.

Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog #7 (“A Date with the Ripper”) opens in Annapolis, Maryland at “McGarvey's Tavern.”  A high-end Congressman is about to meet a most grisly fate … at the hands of a killer that is apparently concerned about the afterlife.

Meanwhile, it has been six months since Nita danced to the blues of Howlin' Henry and bested the demon, Corson.  Nita has moved on from Jimmy Sangster, Jr. and has a hot new man in her life.  Then, her dead brother, Jason, shows up.  Isn't he supposed to finally be resting in peace?!  And now Detective Harden is calling from Annapolis.

THE LOWDOWN:  Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is a spin-off of Rodney Barnes and Jason Shawn Alexander's hit vampire comic book, Killadelphia.  Nita's connections to the series played a substantial part in the series' opening story arc, “The Fire Next Time.”

Now, comes the new story arc, “Murder By Another Name.”  Writer Rodney Barnes continues to spin his visceral horror stories that he builds from the horrid history of the United States when it comes to the treatment of the descendants of African slaves.  I like that Barnes'  horror fiction isn't merely violent narratives.  He mixes mysticism, folk culture, and local magic that result in a kind of dark fantasy that really feels otherworldly, in its own kind of Twilight Zone.

Between his work on Nita Hawes' and A Town Called Terror, artist Szymon Kudranski continues to impress me with his graphical storytelling styles.  Clean line work and luscious brushstrokes create a kind of living darkness where he can bring Barnes' conjurations to life in the most vivid way.

Girl!  Where ya' been?  Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is back and is great as ever.

I READS YOU RECOMMENDS:  Fans of Killadelphia and of the original Hellblazer will want Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog.


Reviewed by Leroy Douresseaux a.k.a. "I Reads You"

The text is copyright © 2022 Leroy Douresseaux. All Rights Reserved. Contact this blog or site for reprint and syndication rights and fees.


Amazon wants me to inform you that the affiliate link below is a PAID AD, but I technically only get paid (eventually) if you click on the affiliate link below AND buy something(s).

No comments:

Post a Comment