Monday, December 7, 2015

Los Angeles Film Critics Name "Spotlight" Best Picture of 2015

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is a professional organization of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media.  Since 1975, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards each December, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera.

41st Annual (2015) Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards:

Picture: Spotlight
Runner-up: Mad Max: Fury Road.

Director: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road
Runner-up: Todd Haynes, Carol.

Actor: Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs
Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, Son of Saul.

Actress: Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years
Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn.

Supporting actor: Michael Shannon, 99 Homes
Runner-up: Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies.

Supporting actress: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina
Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, Clouds of Sils Maria.

Screenplay: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, Spotlight
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa.

Animation: Anomalisa
Runner-up: Inside Out.

Foreign-language film: Son of Saul (Hungary)
Runner-up: The Tribe (Ukraine)

Documentary/nonfiction film: Amy
Runner-up: The Look of Silence.

New Generation: Ryan Coogler, Creed.

Film editing: Hank Corwin, The Big Short
Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, Mad Max: Fury Road.

Cinematography: John Seale, Mad Max: Fury Road
Runner-up: Edward Lachman, Carol.

Production design: Colin Gibson, Mad Max: Fury Road
Runner-up: Judy Becker, Carol.

Music score: Carter Burwell, Anomalisa and Carol
Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, The Hateful Eight.

Special citation: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of films from the silent era.

Lifetime achievement: Anne V. Coates (British film editor who edited “Lawrence of Arabia” and is a recipient of five Oscar nominations.)


No comments:

Post a Comment