Tuesday, December 16, 2014

St. Louis Film Critics Choose "Boyhood" as Best Film of 2014

The St. Louis Film Critics is an association of professional film critics operating in metropolitan St. Louis and adjoining areas of Missouri and Illinois.  Founded in late 2004, the group’s goals (according to the website) are to serve the interests of local film critics, and to promote an appreciation for cinema both as an art form and for its societal, cultural and historical context and impact.

The eligibility requirements for a SLFC Award, according to the group’s website:  a film must have been shown in the greater St. Louis area in a theater or at a film festival or series, or made available to SLFC members by screening or screener during the past year. Films opening in limited run elsewhere for Oscar qualification but which will open in the St. Louis area early in the next year are eligible.

Winners of the 2014 SLFC Awards were announced on Monday, December 15, 2014.

2014 SLFC Awards:

Best Film: “Boyhood”

Best Director: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (“Birdman”)

Best Actor: Jake Gyllenhaal (“Nightcrawler”)

Best Actress:  Rosamund Pike (“Gone Girl”)

Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons (“Whiplash”)

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette (“Boyhood”)

Best Original Screenplay:  “Birdman” (Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo

Best Adapted Screenplay: “Gone Girl” (Gillian Flynn)

Best Cinematography: “Birdman” (Emmanuel Lubezki)

Best Visual Effects: “Interstellar”

Best Musical Score: “Birdman”

Best Soundtrack: “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Best Art Direction: “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Best Animated Film: “The Lego Movie”

Best Art-House or Festival Film: “Whiplash”

Best Comedy: “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Best Documentary: “Citizenfour”

Best Non-English Language Film: “Force Majeure”

Best Scene (favorite movie scene or sequence): “X-Men: Days of Future Past” – Quicksilver Escape from the Pentagon


No comments:

Post a Comment