Friday, January 22, 2016

Indiana Film Critics Pick "Spotlight" Best Film of 2015

The Indiana Film Journalist Association (IFJA) is a film critics’ organization only formed in December 2009.  It seeks to promote film criticism in the state of Indiana and also gives out its annual awards in December.

The full list of 2015 Indiana Film Journalist Association Awards:

Best Film
Winner: "Spotlight"
Runner-up: "Room"

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):
"The Big Short"
"The End of the Tour"
"Mad Max: Fury Road"
"The Martian"
"Steve Jobs"
"Straight Outta Compton"

Best Animated Feature
Winner: "Anomalisa"
Runner-Up: "Inside Out "

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: "Son of Saul"
Runner-Up: "Goodnight Mommy"

Best Documentary
Winner: "Amy"
Runner-Up: "Meru"

Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, "Spotlight"
Runner-up: Matt Charman, Joel & Ethan Coen, "Bridge of Spies"

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Emma Donoghue, "Room"
Runner-up: Adam McKay and Charles Randolph, "The Big Short"

Best Director
Winner: George Miller, "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Runner-up: Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight"

Best Actress
Winner: Brie Larson, "Room"
Runner-up: Charlotte Rampling, "45 Years"

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Greta Gerwig, "Mistress America"
Runner-up: Elizabeth Banks, "Love & Mercy"

Best Actor
Winner: Jacob Tremblay, "Room"
Runner-up: Jason Segel, "The End of the Tour"

Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Mark Ruffalo, "Spotlight"
Runner-up: Idris Elba, "Beasts of No Nation"

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance
Winner: Phyllis Smith, "Inside Out"
Runner-up: Tom Noonan, "Anomalisa"

Best Musical Score
Winner: Junkie XL, "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Runner-up: Disasterpeace, "It Follows"

Original Vision Award
Winner: "Anomalisa"
Runner-up: "Chi-Raq"

The Hoosier Award
Winner: Angelo Pizzo, writer/director/producer

(As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)


No comments:

Post a Comment