Wednesday, January 20, 2016

2016 Dorian Award Winnters Announced; "Carol" Dominates

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) is an organization that is comprised of critics and entertainment journalists who write on television and film for noteworthy media outlets easily accessible in the U.S.  According to its website, most members identify as a member of the LGBTQ-munity:  lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer, but the organization has non-gay “ally” journalists in its ranks, members who tend to work for LGBTQ-targeted outlets).

Through its annual Dorian Awards, GALECA toasts the finest in movies and television, from mainstream to LGBTQ-centric.  Oscar Wilde is the group's patron saint.

2016 Dorian Award winners (for the year in film and television 2015):

Film of the Year

Director of the Year
Todd Haynes, “Carol”

Film Actor of the Year
Leonardo Dicaprio, “The Revenant”

Film Actress of the Year
Cate Blanchett, “Carol”

LGBTQ Film of the Year

Foreign Language Film of the Year
“Son of Saul” (Hungary)

Screenplay of the Year

Documentary of the Year

Visually Striking Film of the Year
“Mad Max: Fury Road”

Unsung Film of the Year

Campy Flick of the Year
“Magic Mike XXL”

TV Drama of the Year
(TIE) “Fargo” & “Orange is the New Black”

TV Comedy of the Year

TV Actor of the Year
Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”

TV Actress of the Year
Taraji P. Henson, “Empire”

LGBTQ Show of the Year

Unsung TV Show of the Year

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Campy TV Show of the Year

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Aretha Franklin

The ‘We’re Wilde About You’ Rising Star Award
Alicia Vikander

Wilde Wit of the Year
Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year
Todd Haynes

Timeless Award
Jane Fonda (previously announced)


No comments:

Post a Comment