Wednesday, November 5, 2014

2014 Austin Film Festival Winners Announced

Austin Film Festival Announces Winners of 2014 Screenplay & Teleplay Competition, Film Competition, and Audience Awards

AUSTIN, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Austin Film Festival (AFF) announces its 2014 Jury and Audience Awards. A record number of scripts were received and Finalists were reviewed by an industry jury.

Screenplay and Teleplay Awards:

    Drama Screenplay Award presented by the Writers Guild of America, East: Dead River Girl, Morris Long

    Comedy Screenplay Award: Three Months, Jared Frieder

    Enderby Entertainment Award: Suicide Boy, Laura Hainke

    Fade to Black Award: I Fucked James Bond, Josh Hallman

    Darkwoods Productions Horror Award: The 700 Year Itch, Molly Stein & Moon Unit Zappa

    Darkwoods Productions Sci-Fi Award: The Incomparable Donald Strange, James Fant & Zach Cannon

    AMC One-Hour Teleplay Pilot: Ascension, Wes Brown

    Sitcom Teleplay Pilot: Great Points Park, Danny Sullivan

    One-Hour Teleplay Spec: The Americans: Barium Meals, Adam Turner

    Sitcom Teleplay Spec: Bob’s Burgers: Mr. Whiskers, Damir Konjicija & Dario Konjicija

The 2014 Jury award-winning films included the inaugural Comedy Vanguard Award. AFF’s competition juries include talented filmmakers and notable industry insiders Dan Guando (The Weinstein Company) and Tom Skerritt (founder, The Film School), among others. Animated, Documentary, and Narrative Short Jury Winners are eligible for Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences nomination.

Jury Awards:

    Narrative Feature: The Kings Surrender, Philipp Leinemann

    Documentary Feature Jury Award: Once Upon a Crime: The Borrelli-Davis Conspiracy, Sheldon Wilson

    Dark Matters Feature: One Eyed Girl, Nick Matthews and Craig Behenna

    Comedy Vanguard Feature: Jimmy Vestvood: Amerikan Hero, Maz Jobrani & Amir Ohebsion

    Narrative Short: Skunk, Annie Silverstein

    Documentary Short: The Next Part, Erin Sanger

    Animated Short: Between Times, Ru Kuwahata & Max Porter

    Narrative Student Short: Luke, Conor Hamill

    Young Filmmakers Program Competition: Special Is Just a Word, Abby Thompson

During the Festival, audiences scored each film, resulting in 2014 Audience Award Winners.

Audience Awards:

    Narrative Feature: Terrible Love, Luke Helmer & Christopher Thomas

    Documentary Feature: The Barkley Marathons: The Race That Eats Its Young, Annika Iltis & Timothy Kane

    Dark Matters Feature: The Suicide Theory, Michael J. Kospiah

    Comedy Vanguard Feature: Jimmy Vestvood: Amerikan Hero, Maz Jobrani & Amir Ohebsion

    Narrative Short: Mimi & Me, Marly Reed

    Documentary Short: Albert, Daniel Jaffe

    Animated Short: TIE The Dam Keeper, Robert Kondo & Dice Tsutsumi | The Last Resort, Gillian Park

    Student Short: Luke, Conor Hamill

    Heart of Film: Popovich and the Voice of the Fabled American West, Mike Thompson, Jerry Thompson, & Gregory Popovich

    Stories From Abroad: Taking it Back, Andreas Schmied

    Texas Independents: Flutter, Eric Hueber

    Marquee Feature: Glen Campbell: I'll Be Me, James Keach

About Austin Film Festival
Austin Film Festival is funded and supported in part by a grant from the Texas Commission on the Arts, City of Austin Economic Growth & Redevelopment Services Office/Cultural Arts Division.

No comments:

Post a Comment