Tuesday, February 2, 2016

2016 Sundance Film Festival Awards; "Birth of a Nation" Wins Top Prizes

Actor and filmmaker Robert Redford founded the Sundance Institute, a non-profit organization, in 1981.  The Sundance Institute actively advances the work of filmmakers and storytellers worldwide.  Through its offices in Park City, Los Angeles, and New York City, the organization provides creative and financial support to emerging and aspiring filmmakers, directors, producers, film composers, screenwriters, playwrights, and theater artists via a series of Labs and Fellowships

The 2016 Sundance Film Festival took place from January 21 to Jan 31, 2016.

2016 Sundance Film Festival Awards:


Audience Award
Birth Of A Nation - Nate Parker

Grand Jury Prize
Birth Of A Nation - Nate Parker

Daniel Scheinert, Daniel Kwan - Swiss Army Man

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award
Chad Hartigan - Morris From America

Special Jury Award – Individual Performance
Melanie Lynskey - The Intervention

Special Jury Award – Individual Performance
Craig Robinson - Morris from America

Special Jury Award – Breakthrough Performance
Joe Seo - Spa Night

Special Jury Award
As You Are - Miles Joris-Peyrafitte


Grand Jury Prize
Weiner - Elyse Steinberg, Josh Kriegman

Audience Award
Jim: The James Foley Story - Brian Oakes

Roger Ross Williams - Life, Animated

Special Jury Award – Vérité Filmmaking
The Bad Kids - Keith Fulton, Lou Pepe

Special Jury Award – Writing
Kate Plays Christine - Robert Greene

Special Jury Award – Social Impact Filmmaking
Trapped - Dawn Porter

NEXT Audience Award
First Girl I Loved - Kerem Sanga


Audience Award
Between Sea and Land / Colombia - Directors: Manolo Cruz, Carlos del Castillo

Sand StormGrand Jury Prize
Sand Storm / Israel - Director: Elite Zexer

Directing Award
Belgica / Belgium-France-Netherlands - Felix van Groeningen

Special Jury Award – Unique Vision and Design
The Lure / Poland - Director: Agnieszka Smoczyńska

Special Jury Award – Screenwriting
Mi Amiga Del Parque / Argentina-Uruguay - Screenwriters: Inés Bortagaray, Ana Katz

Special Jury Award – Acting
Vicky Hernandéz, Manolo Cruz - Between Sea and Land / Colombia


Grand Jury Prize
Sonita / Germany-Iran-Swizerland - Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami

All These Sleepless Nights / Poland - Michal Marczak

Special Jury Award – Best Editing
We Are X / UK-U.S.-Japan - Editors: Mako Kamitsuna, John Maringouin

Special Jury Award – Best Cinematography
The Land Of The Enlightened / Belgium - DP: Pieter-Jan De Pue

Special Jury Award – Best Debut Feature
When Two Worlds Collide / Peru - Directors: Mathew Orzel, Heidi Brandenburg

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize (announced Wednesday – January 27th)
Embrace of the Serpent - Directed by Ciro Guerra

(announced Wednesday – January 27th)

Short Film Grand Jury Prize
Thunder Road / U.S. - Director and screenwriter: Jim Cummings

Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction
The Procedure / U.S. - Director and screenwriter: Calvin Lee Reeder

Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction
Maman(s) / France - Director and screenwriter: Maïmouna Doucouré

Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction
Bacon & God’s Wrath / Canada - Director: Sol Friedman

Short Film Jury Award: Animation
Edmond / UK - Director and screenwriter: Nina Gantz

Short Film Special Jury Award for Outstanding Performance
Grace Glowicki - Her Friend Adam

Short Film Special Jury Award for Best Direction
Peacock / Czech Republic - Director: Ondřej Hudeček, Screenwriters: Jan Smutny, Ondřej Hudeček


No comments:

Post a Comment