Sunday, December 18, 2016

2016 Washington DC Area Film Critics Association Award Nominations

Founded in 2002, The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) is comprised of professional DC-based film critics with affiliations in television, radio, print and the internet. As of 2013, WAFCA has grown to include 58 dedicated members from the District, Maryland and Virginia.

The 2016 WAFCA Awards were announced Monday, December 5, 2016.

The 2016 WAFCA Award nominees:

Best Film:
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director:
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
David Mackenzie (Hell or High Water)
Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Actor:
Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Joel Edgerton (Loving)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Actress:
Amy Adams (Arrival)
Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Supporting Actor:
Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Ben Foster (Hell or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Supporting Actress:
Viola Davis (Fences)
Greta Gerwig (20th Century Women)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Molly Shannon (Other People)
Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Acting Ensemble:
Hell or High Water
Manchester by the Sea
20th Century Women

Best Youth Performance:
Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
Lewis MacDougall (A Monster Calls)
Sunny Pawar (Lion)
Hailee Steinfeld (The Edge of Seventeen)
Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch)

Best Voice Performance:
Jason Bateman (Zootopia)
Auli'i Cravalho (Moana)
Ellen DeGeneres (Finding Dory)
Ginnifer Goodwin (Zootopia)
Liam Neeson (A Monster Calls)

Best Motion Capture Performance:
Liam Neeson (A Monster Calls)
Mark Rylance (The BFG)

Best Original Screenplay:
Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Barry Jenkins, Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)
Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou (The Lobster)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Eric Heisserer, Based on the Story "Story of Your Life" by Ted Chiang (Arrival)
August Wilson, Based on his Play (Fences)
Luke Davies, Adapted from the Memoir "A Long Way Home" by Saroo Brierley (Lion)
Patrick Ness, Based on his Novel (A Monster Calls)
Tom Ford, Based on the Novel "Tony and Susan" by Austin Wright (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Animated Feature:
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
Sausage Party

Best Documentary:
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America

Best Foreign Language Film:
The Handmaiden
The Salesman
Toni Erdmann

Best Production Design:
Production Designer: Patrice Vermette; Key Decorator: Paul Hotte (Arrival)
Production Designer: Stuart Craig; Set Decorator: Anna Pinnock (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
Production Designer: Jean Rabasse, ADC; Set Decorator: Véronique Melery (Jackie)
Production Designer: David Wasco; Set Decorator: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, SDSA (La La Land)
Craig Lathrop (The Witch)

Best Cinematography:
Bradford Young, ASC (Arrival)
Stéphane Fontaine, AFC (Jackie)
Linus Sandgren, SFS (La La Land)
James Laxton (Moonlight)
Seamus McGarvey, ASC, BSC (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Editing:
Joe Walker, ACE (Arrival)
Sebastián Sepúlveda (Jackie)
Tom Cross, ACE (La La Land)
Nat Sanders, Joi McMillon (Moonlight)
Blu Murray (Sully)

Best Original Score:
Jóhann Jóhannsson (Arrival)
Mica Levi (Jackie)
Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
Nicholas Britell (Moonlight)
Cliff Martinez (The Neon Demon)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC:
Jason Bourne
Miss Sloane


No comments:

Post a Comment