Sunday, May 25, 2014

Cannes 2014 Winners - Complete List; Palme d'Or Goes to "Winter Sleep"

The 67th annual Cannes Film Festival was held in Cannes, France from May 14 to May 25, 2014.  The closing ceremony and the 2014 awards ceremony were held on Saturday, May 24, 2014.

I’ve included a list of winners from the “In Competition” categories; this is the main competition in which films compete for the festival’s top prize, the “Palme d’Or” (Golden Palm).  I’ve included the winners from other Cannes award competitions, including “Un Certain Regard” and the “Golden Camera.”

The “Grand Prix” is the second most prestigious prize given at Cannes, after the Palme d’Or.  The competition known as “Un Certain Regard” is a part of Cannes that runs parallel to the competition for the Palme d’Or.

The winner of the Palme d’Or at the 67th annual Cannes Film Festival is Winter Sleep.  This is a film from Turkisk director, Nuri Bilge Ceylan.  Winter Sleep focuses on a self-absorbed Anatolian hotelier and his uneasy relationships with those around him.  Ceylan is a previous Cannes winner.  He received the Grand Prix in 2002 (Distant) and 2011 (Once Upon a Time in Anatolia) and best director in 2008 (Three Monkeys).  Winter Sleep is only the second film by a Turkish director to win the Palme d’Or, after Yilmaz Guney and Serif Goren’s The Way won in 1982.

American Bennett Miller won the best director award for his film, Foxcatcher, which is based on a true story.

2014/67th Cannes Film Festival winners:



Palme d’Or: “Winter Sleep” (Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Turkey-Germany-France)

Grand Prix: “The Wonders” (Alice Rohrwacher, Italy-Switzerland-Germany)

Director: Bennett Miller, “Foxcatcher” (U.S.)

Actor: Timothy Spall, “Mr. Turner” (Mike Leigh, U.K.-France-Germany)

Actress: Julianne Moore, “Maps to the Stars” (David Cronenberg, Canada-Germany)

Jury Prize (tie): “Mommy” (Xavier Dolan, Canada) and “Goodbye to Language” (Jean-Luc Godard, France)

Screenplay: Andrey Zvyagintsev and Oleg Negin, “Leviathan” (Russia)


Camera d’Or: “Party Girl” (Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger, Samuel Theis)


Short Films Palme d’Or: “Leidi” (Simon Mesa Soto)

Short Films Special Mention: “Aissa” (Clement Trehin-Lalanne)

Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Timbuktu” (Abderrahmane Sissako, Mauritania-France)


Un Certain Regard Prize: “White God” (Kornel Mundruczo, Hungary-Germany-Sweden)

Jury prize: “Force Majeure” (Ruben Ostlund, Sweden-France-Denmark-Norway)

Special Prize: “The Salt of the Earth” (Wim Wenders and Juliano Ribeiro Salgado, France-Italy)

Ensemble: “Party Girl” (Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger, Samuel Theis, France)

Actor: David Gulpilil, “Charlie’s Country” (Rolf de Heer, Australia)


Art Cinema Award: “Les Combattants” (Thomas Cailley, France)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “Les Combattants”

Europa Cinemas Label: “Les Combattants”


Grand Prize: “The Tribe” (Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy, Ukraine)

Visionary Prize: “The Tribe”

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “Hope” (Boris Lojkine, France)


Competition: “Winter Sleep”

Un Certain Regard: “Jauja” (Lisandro Alonso, Denmark-U.S.-Argentina)

Directors’ Fortnight: “Les Combattants”

No comments:

Post a Comment