Sunday, January 15, 2023

Comics Review: "Nita Hawes' NIGHTMARE Blog #11" - Never Left and She's Back at It


STORY: Rodney Barnes
ART: Szymon Kudranski
COLORS: Luis Nct with mar and Silvestre Galotto
LETTERS: Marshall Dillon
EDITOR: Greg Tumbarello
COVER: Szymon Kudranski
VARIANT COVER ARTIST: Szymon Kudranski; Chris Visions
28pp, Colors, 3.99 U.S. (January 2023)

Rated “M/ Mature”

Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog created by Rodney Barnes and Jason Shawn Alexander

“Murder By Another Name” Part V: “The Wake-Up Call”

Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is a comic book series created by Rodney Barnes and Jason Shawn Alexander.  Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is written by Barnes.  The current artist is Szymon Kudranski.  Colorist Luis Nct and letterer by Marshall Dillon complete the creative team.  The series focuses on a woman who is on a quest to root out evil by helping the people who contact her blog.

In Baltimore, Maryland, which some call “Bodymore, Murderland,” there is a woman named Dawnita “Nita” Hawes.  She is the owner of “Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog” where citizens can contact Nita when they have a problem of a supernatural or paranormal nature.  Nita has just begun her quest to root the evil out of her city – with the help of her dead brother, Jason.

Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog #11 (“The Wake-Up Call”) opens with Nita freed from the clutches of “Jackie the Ripper.”  Her savior, Anasi the Spider-God, wants Nita to show appreciation because he saved her from a Hell she never imagined.  He believes that Nita can show that by not returning to the clutches of the Ripper...

… But that can't be.  Nita must ignore Anansi's warnings and go looking for a formidable creature with the assistance of  Detective Harden.  As Nita comes one step closer to uncovering Jackie's dark secrets, she becomes her next target, again, as the killer desires to enjoy some more killing before returning to her next big sleep. 

THE LOWDOWN:  Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog is a spin-off of Rodney Barnes and Jason Shawn Alexander's hit vampire comic book, Killadelphia.  The current story arc, “Murder By Another Name,” is making several direct connections to recent and ongoing events in Killadelphia, while rocking the “Killadelphia-verse” in its own way.

I like Barnes and Kudranski's take on Jack the Ripper.  She is a slave turned monster by the ghosts of those who killed her.  In a sense, because she was killed as chattel property and now “lives” as an murderous entity, she can never truly be a “former slave.”

I think that this story arc, “Murder By Another Name,” especially Chapter 4 (issue #10), is about Nita fully taking control of her mission.  Her “Nightmare Blog” is something she took upon herself, and she must take on that mission and must embrace it in her way regardless of the pleadings of well-meaning gods and baby ghosts.

I think next issue's closing chapter of this story arc will be big.  Keep reading, dear readers.

I READS YOU RECOMMENDS:  Fans of Killadelphia and of the original Hellblazer will want Nita Hawes' Nightmare Blog.


You can buy the NITA HAWES' NIGHTMARE BLOG VOL. 2 trade paperback here at AMAZON.

Reviewed by Leroy Douresseaux a.k.a. "I Reads You"

The text is copyright © 2023 Leroy Douresseaux. All Rights Reserved. Contact this blog or site for reprint and syndication rights and fees.


Amazon wants me to inform you that the affiliate link below is a PAID AD, but I technically only get paid (eventually) if you click on the affiliate link below AND buy something(s).

No comments:

Post a Comment