Sunday, January 30, 2011

Directors Guild Awards Friend "The King's Speech"

The winners of the Directors Guild of America Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards for 2010 were announced last night (Sat. Jan. 29th).  The big news:  Tom Hooper won the DGA's "Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film" for The King's Speech.  The awards were handed out at the 63rd Annual DGA Awards Dinner at the Grand Ballroom in Los Angeles.  For a complete list of winners and nominees, please visit the DGA site.

The Directors Guild Awards Winners:

Best Feature Film: Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech

Best Documentary: Charles Ferguson, Inside Job

Dramatic Series: Martin Scorsese, Boardwalk Empire

Comedy Series: Michael Spiller, Modern Family, Halloween Episode

TV Movie/Miniseries: Mick Jackson, Temple Grandin
The winner of Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film has traditionally served as a near-perfect barometer for predicting the winner of the best director Oscar. Only six times since the DGA Award's inception in 1948 has the winner not gone on to receive the Academy Award for Best Director.
Here are the six DGA winners who did NOT win the best director Oscar the same year (with the Oscar winner in parenthesis):
1968: Anthony Harvey for The Lion in Winter (Carol Reed-Oliver!)
1972: Francis Ford Coppola for The Godfather (Bob Fosse-Cabaret)
1985: Steven Spielberg for The Color Purple (Sydney Pollack-Out of Africa)
1995: Ron Howard for Apollo 13 (Mel Gibson-Braveheart)
2000: Ang Lee for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (Steven Soderbergh-Traffic)
2002: Rob Marshall for Chicago (Roman Polanski-The Pianist)

No comments:

Post a Comment