Friday, January 16, 2015

"Boyhood" Wins Critics' Choice Award for "Best Picture"

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada.  It represents almost 300 television, radio and online critics. For additional information about the BFCA and their memberships, visit

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) recently announced the winners for The 20th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards. The winners were revealed at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, which was broadcast live on A&E from the Hollywood Palladium on Thursday, January 15th, 2015 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT.

Boyhood” was named Best Picture and garnered three additional wins including Best Supporting Actress for Patricia Arquette, Best Young Actor/Actress for Ellar Coltrane, and Best Director for Richard Linklater.

Birdman,” the most nominated film of the evening, won seven awards including Best Actor for Michael Keaton, Best Acting Ensemble, Best Original Screenplay for Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr., and Armando Bo, Best Cinematography for Emmanuel Lubezki, Best Editing for Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione, Best Actor in a Comedy for Michael Keaton, and Best Score for Antonio Sanchez. Michael Keaton is the first person in the 20-year history of the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards to win three awards in a single year (Best Actor, Best Actor in a Comedy, and as part of the “Birdman” Best Ensemble).

The Grand Budapest Hotel” claimed three awards including Best Comedy, Best Art Direction for Adam Stockhausen (Production Designer) and Anna Pinnock (Set Director), and Best Costume Design for Milena Canonero.

As announced previously, Kevin Costner, Ron Howard and Jessica Chastain each received special honors at the ceremony. Rene Russo presented Kevin Costner with the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ celebrating more than three decades of incredible work in film. Chris Hemsworth presented the ‘Critics’ Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award’, established to honor an icon who has demonstrated unprecedented excellence in the cinematic arts, to multiple award-winning director, producer and actor Ron Howard. Chris Pratt presented the inaugural ‘Critics’ Choice MVP Award,’ to Jessica Chastain, recognizing an extraordinary actress for her work in several standout movies throughout a single year – Interstellar, Miss Julie, A Most Violent Year (which also earned her a Best Supporting Actress nomination this year), and The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby.

The 2015 / 20th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Award winners (for the year in film, 2014):

Best Picture – “Boyhood”

Best Actor – Michael Keaton, “Birdman”

Best Actress – Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”

Best Supporting Actor – J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”

Best Supporting Actress – Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”

Best Young Actor/Actress – Ellar Coltrane, “Boyhood”

Best Acting Ensemble – “Birdman”

Best Director – Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”

Best Original Screenplay – Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr., Armando Bo, “Birdman”

Best Adapted Screenplay – Gillian Flynn, “Gone Girl”

Best Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki, “Birdman”

Best Art Direction – Adam Stockhausen (Production Designer), Anna Pinnock (Set Decorator), “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Best Editing – Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione, “Birdman”

Best Costume Design – Milena Canonero, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Best Hair & Makeup – “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Best Visual Effects – “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”

Best Animated Feature – “The Lego Movie”

Best Action Movie – “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Best Actor in an Action Movie – Bradley Cooper, “American Sniper”

Best Actress in an Action Movie – Emily Blunt, “Edge of Tomorrow”

Best Comedy – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Best Actor in a Comedy – Michael Keaton, “Birdman”

Best Actress in a Comedy – Jenny Slate, “Obvious Child”

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie – “Interstellar”

Best Foreign Language Film – “Force Majeure”

Best Documentary Feature – “Life Itself”

Best Song – “Glory”, Common and John Legend, “Selma”

Best Score – Antonio Sanchez, “Birdman”


No comments:

Post a Comment