Friday, January 2, 2015

"Boyhood" Tops Austin Film Critics Association Awards

The Austin Film Critics Association describes itself as a group dedicated to supporting the best in film, whether at the international, national, or local level.  Members of the AFCA contribute to such publications and outlets as Ain’t It Cool News, the Austin American-Statesman, the Austin Chronicle, The Daily Texan, DVDActive, Fandango, Film School Rejects,, KOOP Radio,, among others.

The 2014 AFCA Awards were announced on December 17, 2014.

2014 Austin Film Critics Association Awards winners:

Best Film: Boyhood (Richard Linklater)

Best Director: Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Best Actor: Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler

Best Actress: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Original Screenplay: Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler

Best Adapted Screenplay: Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman

Best Score: Antonio Sanchez, Birdman

Best Foreign-Language Film: Force Majeure (Ruben Östlund)

Best Documentary: Citizenfour (Laura Poitras)

Best Animated Film: The LEGO Movie (Phil Lord, Christopher Miller)

Best First Film: Nightcrawler (Dan Gilroy)

Breakthrough Artist: Jennifer Kent, The Babadook

Best Austin Film: Boyhood (Richard Linklater)

Special Honorary Award: Gary Poulter, for his outstanding performance in Joe

AFCA 2014 Top Ten Films:
1. Boyhood
2. Whiplash
3. The Grand Budapest Hotel
4. Birdman
5. Snowpiercer
6. Nightcrawler
7. Selma
8. The Imitation Game
9. TIE: Inherent Vice and Gone Girl


No comments:

Post a Comment