Thursday, January 9, 2014

Cinematographers Announce 2014 ASC Award Nominations with 7 Nominees

by Amos Semien

The American Society of Cinematographers has announced the nominations for the 28th installment of its annual awards honoring outstanding achievement in the field of motion picture cinematography.  I have included the press release from the organization.

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is an educational, cultural, and professional organization, but it is not a labor union or a guild.  On its website, the organization says that it is “a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking.”  ASC membership is by invitation, based on an individual’s body of work, and invitations are extended only to directors of photography (D.o.P.) and special effects experts with distinguished credits in the film industry.

ASC members can put the letters A.S.C. after their names and membership is a mark of prestige and distinction and has become one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon a professional cinematographer.  The current membership roster comprises 302 cinematographers from about 20 different countries. The ASC also has more than 150 associate members, who work in ancillary sectors of the industry.  They are invited to join because of their contributions to the art and craft of motion pictures.  ASC also publishes the magazine, American Cinematographer.

Press release:

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced nominations in the theatrical motion picture category of the 28th Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement.  The winner will be revealed at the awards ceremony on Saturday, February 1, 2014, at the Hollywood & Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom.

28th Annual ASC Awards (2014) nominations:

Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 Years a Slave
Barry Ackroyd, BSC for Captain Phillips
Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster
Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC for Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael, ASC for Nebraska
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Prisoners

“Our members believe these cinematographers have set the contemporary standard for artful, theatrical motion picture cinematography,” says ASC President Richard Crudo. “They have mastered a complex craft which contributes vitally to the storytelling process, and augments the intentions of everyone involved with the production.”

Traditionally, the organization selects five nominees, but a three-way tie this year boosts that number to seven.

This year’s nomination brings Deakins’ total to 12. He won last year for Skyfall, and previously for The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations were for Fargo (1997), Kundun (1998), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), No Country for Old Men (2008), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Reader (2009) and True Grit (2011). He was also the recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Lubezki has won ASC Awards for The Tree of Life (2012) and for Children of Men (2007), and was also nominated in 2000 for Sleepy Hollow.

Delbonnel earned top honors for A Very Long Engagement (2005), as well as a nomination for Amélie (2002).

Ackroyd was previously nominated for The Hurt Locker (2010).

Papamichael earned previous nominations in the television movie and miniseries category for White Dwarf (1996) and Wild Palms (1994), respectively.

This is the first ASC nomination for Bobbitt and Le Sourd.


No comments:

Post a Comment