Friday, January 17, 2014

Broadcast Film Critics Name "12 Years a Slave" Best Picture of 2013

by Amos Semien

The Broadcast Film Critics Association named 12 Years a Slave the “Best Picture” of 2013 at the 19th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, which the BFCA presents.  Director Steve McQueen’s film also claimed “Best Supporting Actress” for Lupita Nyong’o and “Best Adapted Screenplay” for John Ridley.

Gravity led the 19th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards with seven wins, including “Best Director” for Alfonso Cuarón and “Best Actress in An Action Movie” for Sandra Bullock.  This is a record for the most Critics’ Choice Movie Award wins ever, previously held by Inception (2010) and Avatar (2009), which both had six wins.

American Hustle won four awards, including “Best Acting Ensemble” and “Best Actress in a Comedy” for Amy Adams.  Dallas Buyers Club received two major acting awards, “Best Actor” to Matthew McConaughey and “Best Supporting Actor” to Jared Leto.

The winners of the 19th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards were announced at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards ceremony on Thursday, January 16, 2014 from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, Calif.  The show was broadcast live on The CW Network.  Aisha Tyler hosted the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards ceremony. Tyler currently serves as the new host of the critically acclaimed improv show, “Whose Line Is It Anyway?,” on The CW Network and is also currently a co-host of Emmy-nominated show “The Talk.”

WINNERS OF THE 2014 / 19th ANNUAL CRITICS’ CHOICE MOVIE AWARDS (for the year in film 2013):

Best Picture – “12 Years a Slave”

Best Actor – Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Actress – Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”

Best Supporting Actor – Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Supporting Actress – Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Young Actor/Actress – Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is The Warmest Color”

Best Acting Ensemble – “American Hustle”

Best Director – Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity”

Best Original Screenplay – Spike Jonze, “Her”

Best Adapted Screenplay – John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity”

Best Art Direction – Catherine Martin (Production Designer), Beverley Dunn (Set Decorator), “The Great Gatsby”

Best Editing – Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger, “Gravity”

Best Costume Design – Catherine Martin, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Hair & Makeup – “American Hustle”

Best Visual Effects – “Gravity”

Best Animated Feature – “Frozen”

Best Action Movie – “Lone Survivor”

Best Actor in an Action Movie – Mark Wahlberg, “Lone Survivor”

Best Actress in an Action Movie – Sandra Bullock, “Gravity”

Best Comedy – “American Hustle”

Best Actor in a Comedy – Leonardo DiCaprio, “Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Actress in a Comedy – Amy Adams, “American Hustle”

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie – “Gravity”

Best Foreign Language Film – “Blue Is the Warmest Color”

Best Documentary Feature – “20 Feet From Stardom”

Best Song – “Let It Go” Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, “Frozen”

Best Score – Steven Price, “Gravity”


No comments:

Post a Comment