Monday, January 20, 2014

2014 Producers Guild Awards: "12 Years a Slave" and "Gravity" Tie

by Amos Semien

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) describes itself as “the non-profit trade group that represents, protects and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media.”  Film fans know the organization because of its annual PGA Awards.

Oscar prognosticators have viewed the PGA Awards as the most reliable predictor of the eventual “Best Picture” Oscar winner.  Over the last 24 years, the Academy and PGA winner for “Best Picture” have matched 17 times, and they have matched the last 6 times in a row (including last year for best picture Oscar winner, Argo).

There won’t be a seventh year in a row.  You see, it is unlikely that there will be a tie for the best picture Oscar, and last night at the 25th Annual PGA Awards, there was a tie for the first time in the awards’ 25-year history.  Alfonso Cuarón’s Gravity and Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave shared the group’s prize for best picture, “The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures.”

Alfonso Cuaron and David Heyman for Gravity and Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt and the Plan B team for 12 Years a Slave accepted the award.

So this supposedly means an up-in-the-air race for the best picture Oscar.  If you go by the SAG Awards, actors favor David O. Russell’s American Hustle, and, as a group, actors apparently make up 20 percent of the Oscar vote – making them the dominant voting block.  Critics have loved 12 Years a Slave, and Gravity is clearly aspiring to win more than just some tech and visual effects Oscar.

The winners of the 25th Annual Producers Guild Awards (also known as the 2014 Producers Guild Awards) were announced Sunday, January 19, 2014 at the 2014 Producers Guild Awards ceremony, which was in the Dolby Theater at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

2014 / 25th Annual Producers Guild Awards (for the year 2013) – Full list of winners:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures: (TIE)
"Gravity" (Warner Bros. Pictures) Producers: Alfonso Cuaron, David Heyman
"12 Years a Slave" (Fox Searchlight Pictures);  Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt and Dede Gardner

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
"Frozen" (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures); Producer: Peter Del Vecho

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:
"We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks" (Focus Features);  Producers: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:
"Breaking Bad" (AMC); Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:
"Modern Family" (ABC); Producers: Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeffrey Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
"Behind the Candelabra" (HBO); Producers: Susan Ekins, Gregory Jacobs, Michael Polaire, Jerry Weintraub

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:
"SportsCenter" (ESPN)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:
"Sesame Street" (PBS)

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:
"Wired: What’s Inside"

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:
"Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown" (CNN);  Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:
"The Voice" (NBC); Producers: Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Nicolle Yaron, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment and Talk Television:
"The Colbert Report" (Comedy Central); Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart


No comments:

Post a Comment