Monday, February 21, 2011

Kansas City Film Critics Choose "The Social Network" and Christopher Nolan

As we move closer to the Academy Awards (Sun., Feb. 27th), I'm catching up on my critics awards.  Today, it's the Kansas City Film Critics Circle, which announced its movie awards in January.
Founded in 1967, The Kansas City Film Critics Circle (KCFCC) says that it is the "second oldest professional film critics" association in the United States" (behind the New York Film Critics Circle). The organization is composed of media film critics in the Kansas City metropolitan area. The KCFCC’s awards are named for the group’s founder, James Loutzenhiser, who died in November 2001.

2010 Loutzenhiser Awards (Announced January 2, 2011):

Best Film: The Social Network

Robert Altman Award for Best Director: Christopher Nolan - Inception

Best Actress: Natalie Portman - Black Swan

Best Actor: Colin Firth - The King's Speech

Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld - True Grit

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale - The Fighter

Best Original Screenplay: Christopher Nolan - Inception

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin - The Social Network

Best Animated Film: Toy Story 3

Best Foreign Language Film: Mother (South Korea)

Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop

Vince Koehler Award for Best Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror Film: Inception

No comments:

Post a Comment