Monday, February 7, 2011

Christopher Nolan Recieves First Guild Award with WGA Win

After recieving several nominations from the Writers, Directors, and Producers Guilds, Christopher Nolan finally won a guild award, receiving the "Original Screenplay" award from the Writers Guild of America for the screenplay of his hit film, Inception, in a ceremony held Saturday night (Feb. 5th).  However, the frontrunner for the original screenplay Oscar is The King's Speech, which the WGA ruled ineligible for its awards.


Original Screenplay: Christopher Nolan, "Inception"
Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, "The Social Network"
Documentary Screenplay: Charles Ferguson, Chad Beck and Adam Bolt, "Inside Job"

Drama Series: "Mad Men," written by Jonathan Abrahams, Lisa Albert, Keith Huff, Jonathan Igla, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tracy McMillan, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner (AMC)

Comedy Series: "Modern Family," written by Jerry Collins, Paul Corrigan, Alex Herschlag, Abraham Higginbotham, Elaine Ko, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O'Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Ilana Wernick, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker (ABC)

New Series: "Boardwalk Empire," written by Meg Jackson, Lawrence Konner, Howard Korder, Steve Kornacki, Margaret Nagle, Tim Van Patten, Paul Simms, Terence Winter (HBO)

Episodic Drama: ""The Chrysanthemum and the Sword" ("Mad Men"), written by Erin Levy (AMC)

Episodic Comedy: "When It Rains, It Pours" ("30 Rock"), written by Robert Carlock (NBC)

Long Form - Original: "The Special Relationship," written by Peter Morgan (HBO)

Long Form - Adaptation: "The Pacific, Part Eight," written by Robert Schenkkan and Michelle Ashford (HBO)

Animation: "The Prisoner of Brenda" ("Futurama"), written by Ken Keeler (Comedy Central)

Comedy/Variety Series: "The Colbert Report," written by Barry Julien, Dan Guterman, Eric Drysdale, Frank Lesser, Glenn Eichler, Jay Katsir, Max Werner, Meredith Scardino, Michael Brumm, Opus Moreschi, Peter Gwinn, Rich Dahm, Rob Dubbin, Scott Sherman, Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Peter Grosz, Paul Dinello (Comedy Central)

Comedy/Variety - Special: "National Memorial Day Concert 2010," written by Joan Meyerson (PBS)

Daytime Drama: "As the World Turns," written by Susan Dansby, Lucky Gold, Janet Iacobuzio, Penelope Koechi, David Kreizman, Leah Laiman, David A. Levinson, Leslie Nipkow, Jean Passanante, Gordon Rayfield, David Smilow (CBS)

Children's - Episodic & Specials: "Happy Ha-Ha Holidays," written by Michael G. Stern, Randi Barnes, Rick Gitelson, Scott Gray (Disney Channel)

Children's - Long Form or Special: "Avalon High," written by Julie Sherman Wolfe and Amy Talkington

Documentary - Current Events: "Flying Cheap" ("Frontline"), written by Rick Young

Documentary - Other Than Current Events: "Wyatt Earp" ("American Experience"), written by Rob Rapley

News - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: "Sunday Morning Almanac" ("CBS Sunday Morning"), written by Thomas A. Harris

News - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "Resurrecting Eden" ("60 Minutes"), written by Jenny Dubin

Documentary: "2009 Year in Review," written by Gail Lee, CBS Radio News
News - Regularly Scheduled or Breaking Report: "CBS World News Roundup," written by Paul Farry, CBS Radio News
News: Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "Passages," written by Gail Lee, CBS Radio News

On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television): "CSI" Promos, written by Anne de Vega, CBS
Television Graphic Animation: "Sunday Morning, By Design," graphic designer Bob Pook, graphic artist Diane Robinson, CBS News

Videogame Writing: "Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood," written by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May, Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner (Ubisoft)

Original New Media: "The Real Thing," "Identity Crisis," "Girl Talk," "Naming Things," "Curtain Up" ("Anyone But Me"), written by Susan Miller and Tina Cesa Ward
Derivative New Media: "Strip Pong," "Tear Jerks," "Brainstorm" ("Frank vs Lutz"), written by Jon Haller

No comments:

Post a Comment