Sunday, January 6, 2013

Alliance of Women Film Journalists' 2012 EDA Nominations

According the organization’s website, The Alliance of Women Film Journalists, Inc. (AWFJ), was founded in 2006. The membership is made up of “highly qualified professional female movie critics, reporters and feature writers working in print, broadcast and online media.” Its state purpose is to “support work by and about women - both in front of and behind the cameras - through intra-group promotional activities, outreach programs and by presenting the annual EDA Awards in recognition of outstanding accomplishments (the best and worst) by and about women in the movies.”

2012 EDA Award Nominees
In December, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists announced the nominees for the 2012 AWFJ EDA Awards. The winners will be announced on January 7, 2013.

Listed by category and in alphabetical order, the nominees are:


Best Film
Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director
Ben Affleck - Argo
Kathryn Bigelow - Zero Dark Thirty
Steven Speilberg - Lincoln

Best Screenplay, Original
Amour - Michael Haneke.
Moonrise Kingdom - Wes Anderson, Roman Coppola
Zero Dark Thirty - Mark Boal

Best Screenplay, Adapted
Argo - Chris Terrio
Lincoln - Tony Kushner,
Silver Linings Playbook - David O. Russell

Best Documentary
The Gatekeepers - Dror Moreh
The Imposter - Bart Layton
The Invisible War - Kirby Dick
Searching For Sugar Man - Malik Bendjelloul

Best Animated Film

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain - Zero Dark Thirty
Jennifer Lawrence - Silver Linings Playbook
Emmanuelle Riva - Amour

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Amy Adams - The Master
Sally Field - Lincoln
Anne Hathaway - Les Miserables

Best Actor
Daniel Day Lewis - Lincoln
John Hawkes - The Sessions
Joaquin Phoenix - The Master

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Alan Arkin - Argo
Phillip Seymour Hoffman - The Master
Tommy Lee Jones - Lincoln
Christoph Waltz - Django Unchained

Best Ensemble Cast
Silver Linings Notebook

Best Editing
Argo - William Goldenberg
Cloud Atlas - Alexander Berner
Zero Dark Thirty - William Goldenberg, Dylan Tichenor

Best Cinematography
The Life of Pi - Claudio Miranda
The Master - Mihai Malaimare, Jr.
Skyfall - Roger Deakins

Best Film Music Or Score
Argo - Alexandre Desplat
Beasts of the Southern Wild - Dan Romer, Benh Zeitlin
Zero Dark Thirty - Alexandre Desplat

Best Non-English-Language Film
Amour (Austria)
A Royal Affair
Rust and Bone (Belgium/France)

EDA FEMALE FOCUS AWARDSThese awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director
Andrea Arnold - Wuthering Heights
Kathryn Bigelow - Zero Dark Thirty
Sarah Polley - Take This Waltz

Best Woman Screenwriter
Lucy Alibar (and Benh Zeitlin) - Beasts of the Southern Wild
Zoe Kazan - Ruby Sparks
Ava DuVernay - Middle of Nowhere
Sarah Polley - Take This Waltz

Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star
Gina Carano - Haywire
Anne Hathaway - The Dark Knight Rises
Jennifer Lawrence - The Hunger Games

Best Animated Female
Brave - Merida - Kelly Macdonald
Rise of the Guardians - Tooth - Isla Fisher
Wreck-It Ralph - Vanellope - Sarah Silverman

Best Breakthrough Performance
Samantha Barks - Les Miserables
Ann Dowd - Compliance
Alicia Vikander - A Royal Affair
Quvenzhané Wallis - Beasts of the Southern Wild

Actress Defying Age and Ageism
Judi Dench - Skyfall
Helen Mirren - Hitchcock
Emmanuelle Riva - Amour

AWFJ Award For Humanitarian Activism - Female Icon Award
(Presented to an actress for the portrayal of the most positive female role model, or for a role in which she takes personal and/or career risks to plumb the female psyche and therefore gives us courage to plumb our own, and/or for putting forth the image of a woman who is heroic, accomplished, persistent, demands her rights and/or the rights of others.)

Jessica Chastain - Zero Dark Thirty
Helen Hunt - The Sessions
Judi Dench - Skyfall

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry
(Presented only when warranted to a female who has had a banner-making, record-breaking, industry-changing achievement during any given year — such as Kathryn Bigelow’s Best Director Oscar win, or for an actress having multiple outstanding films released during one year.)

Kathryn Bigelow for Zero Dark Thirty
Jennifer Lawrence for The Hunger Games and Silver Linings Playbook
Women Documentary Filmmakers, including Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady (Detropia), Lauren Greenfield (Queen of Versailles), Alison Klayman (Ai Weiwei Never Sorry) and Sarah Burns (The Central Park Five).


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award
Sean Anders for That’s My Boy
Sacha Baron Cohen for The Dictator
Gabriele Muccino for Playing For Keeps

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent
Katherine Heigl - One For The Money
Nicole Kidman - The Paperboy
Reese Witherspoon - This Means War

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn’t
Anna Karenina
Cloud Atlas
Les Miserables

Unforgettable Moment Award
Argo - The runway chase.
Flight - Crash sequence
Les Miserables - Anne Hathaway as Fantine sings I Dreamed A Dream
Rust and Bone - Marion Cotillard as Stephanie dances in the wheelchair.
Zero Dark Thirty - Jessica Chastain as Maya says, “I’m the mother…”

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction
Anna Karenina - Keira Knightly and Aaron Taylor-Johnson
Rust and Bone - Marion Cotilliard
The Sessions - Helen Hunt and John Hawkes

Sequel or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award
Amazing Spiderman
Red Dawn
Total Recall

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award
Flight - Denzel Washington and Kelly Reilly,..and Nadine Velazquez
Seeking a Friend For the End of the World - Steve Carell and Keira Knightly
Silver Linings Notebook - Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence

No comments:

Post a Comment