Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Online Film Critics Society Name "Moonlight" Best Picture of 2016; Complete Winners List

Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) describes itself as “the largest, most respected organization for critics whose work appears primarily on the Internet.”  The OFCS says that it has been the key force in establishing and raising the standards for Internet-based film journalism.  Its membership consists of film reviewers, journalists and scholars based in the U.S., Canada, Europe, Latin America and the Asia/Pacific Rim region.  The Online Film Critics Society currently consists of 254 members with writers representing 22 countries across the globe.

The 20th Online Film Critics Society Awards nominations were announced on Tuesday, December 27, 2016.  The winners were announced Tuesday, January 3, 2017.

2016 / 20th OFCS Award winners:

Best Picture

Best Animated Feature
Kubo and the Two Strings

Best Director
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

Best Actor
Casey Affleck – Manchester By the Sea

Best Actress
Natalie Portman – Jackie

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Best Supporting Actress
Naomie Harris – Moonlight

Best Original Screenplay
Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan

Best Adapted Screenplay
Arrival – Eric Heisserer, Ted Chiang

Best Editing
La La Land – Tom Cross

Best Cinematography
La La Land – Linus Sandgren

Best Film Not in the English Language
The Handmaiden – South Korea

Best Documentary
O.J.: Made in America

Best Non-U.S. Release
After the Storm
The Death of Louis XIV
The Girl With All the Gifts
Personal Shopper
A Quiet Passion
Staying Vertical
The Unknown Girl
Yourself and Yours


No comments:

Post a Comment