Saturday, January 7, 2017

Seattle Film Critics Society Name "Moonlight" Best Picture of 2016

Established in 2016, the Seattle Film Critics Society (SFCS) says that it is dedicated to supporting local productions and festivals, enhancing public education, awareness, and appreciation of cinema, and strengthening the bonds of critical dialogue as it pertains to the cinematic arts. The group seeks to highlight the best films produced each year–both by the major studios and independent filmmakers–and share our love of cinema with Seattle-area residents.  The group is made of a robust network of film critics and reviewers in Seattle and surrounding areas of Washington State. The society is represented by members in print, radio, television and online mediums.

The nominations for the 2016 SFCS Awards were announced Wednesday, December 21, 2016.  The winners were announced Thursday, January 5, 2017.

2016 SFCS Award winners:

Best Picture
Winner – Moonlight
Runner Up – Elle

Best Actress
Winner – Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Runner Up – (TIE) Amy Adams – Arrival; Natalie Portman – Jackie (TIE)

Best Actor
Winner – Casey Affleck – Manchester By The Sea
Runner Up – Denzel Washington – Fences

Best Supporting Actress
Winner – Viola Davis – Fences
Runners Up – (TIE) Lily Gladstone – Certain Women; Naomie Harris – Moonlight (TIE)

Best Supporting Actor
Winner – Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
Runner Up – John Goodman – 10 Cloverfield Lane

Best Director
Winner – Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Runner Up – Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Best Screenplay
Winner – Barry Jenkins & Tarell Alvin McCraney – Moonlight
Runner Up – Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester By The Sea

Best Documentary Film
Winner – OJ: Made In America
Runner Up – 13TH

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner – Elle
Runner Up – The Handmaiden

Best Animated Film
Winner Up – Zootopia
Runner Up – Kubo & The Two Strings

Best Ensemble
Winner – Moonlight
Runner Up – Fences

Best Cinematography
Winner – Arrival
Runner Up – La La Land

Best Costume Design
Winner – The Handmaiden
Runner Up – Love & Friendship

Best Film Editing
Winner – Moonlight
Runner Up – Arrival

Best Original Score
Winner – Johann Johannsson – Arrival
Runner Up – Justin Hurwitz – La La Land

Best Production Design
Winner – The Handmaiden
Runner Up – La La Land

Best Visual Effects
Winners – (TIE) Arrival; Doctor Strang

Best Youth Performance
Winner – Anya Taylor-Joy – The Witch
Runner Up – (TIE) Royalty Hightower – The Fits; Sunny Pawar – Lion (TIE)

Best Villain
Winner – Howard Stambler in 10 Cloverfield Lane
Runner Up – Black Phillip in The Witch


No comments:

Post a Comment