Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Gotham Awards Names "Moonlight" Best Feature Film of 2016

Honoring independent films, the Gotham Awards are the first major awards of the film awards season.  The Gotham Awards are presented by the Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), an organization which helps independent filmmakers by connected artists with resources at all stages of film development and distribution.

This year, the 2016 Gotham Awards kicks off the 2016-17 American movie awards season.  The nominations were announced Thursday, October 20, 2016.  The Gotham Awards ceremony was held on Monday, November 28, 2016. at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City.

2016 / 26th Annual IFP Gotham Awards winners:

Best Feature
Barry Jenkins, director; Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, producers (A24)

Best Documentary
O.J.: Made in America
Ezra Edelman, director; Caroline Waterlow, Ezra Edelman, Tamara Rosenberg, Nina Krstic, Deirdre Fenton, Erin Leyden, producers (ESPN Films)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Trey Edward Shults for Krisha (A24)

Best Screenplay
Moonlight, Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; Screenplay by Barry Jenkins (A24)

Best Actor*
Casey Affleck in Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios)

Best Actress*
Isabelle Huppert in Elle (Sony Pictures Classics)

Breakthrough Actor*
Anya Taylor-Joy in The Witch (A24)

* The 2016 Best Actor/Best Actress and Breakthrough Actor nominating panels also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance to Moonlight, “in which actors at all levels of experience give outstanding performances that speak eloquently to one another both within and across each chapter of the story.” The awards will go to actors Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, and Ashton Sanders.

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Rachel Bloom & Aline Brosh McKenna, creators; Marc Webb, Rachel Bloom, Aline Brosh McKenna, Erin Ehrlich, executive producers (The CW)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
Her Story, Jen Richards and Laura Zak, creators (

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award
IFP members will determine the Gotham Independent Film Audience Award with nominees comprised of the 15 nominated films in the Best Feature, Best Documentary, and Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award categories. All IFP current, active members at the Individual Level and above will be eligible to vote.  Voting took place online from November 16th at 12:01 AM EST and concluded on November 23rd at 5:00 PM EST.



No comments:

Post a Comment