Thursday, June 5, 2014

"Mad Men" Creator Matthew Weiner to Be Honored at 2014 Austin Film Festival

Matthew Weiner to Receive “Outstanding Television Writer” Award at 2014 Austin Film Festival & Screenwriters Conference

“The Writers Festival” announces Panelists for 21st Anniversary, featuring Neil LaBute, Terry George, Cary Fukunaga, William Broyles, Whit Stillman, Michelle Ashford, and more

AFF Screenplay and Film Competitions to include jurors hailing from AMC, The Black List, The Weinstein Company, Oscilloscope, and FilmBuff

AUSTIN, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Austin Film Festival (AFF), the premier film festival that recognizes the writers’ and filmmakers’ impact on film and television is thrilled to announce accomplished creator, Executive Producer, writer, and director of Mad Men, Matthew Weiner, as the 2014 recipient of the “Outstanding Television Writer” Award. In addition to his television credits, Weiner has written and directed the feature film, Are You Here, which stars Owen Wilson, Zach Galifianakis and Amy Poehler. The film will open in theaters on Friday, August 22.

Weiner has been nominated for a total of 11 Emmys for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series. He won the award for the series pilot, as well as for the Second Season episode, “Meditations in an Emergency”, with Kater Gordon, and for the Third Season episode, “Shut the Door. Have a Seat.” with Erin Levy. Most recently, Weiner won the WGA Award for Best Episodic for the Season Five episode, “The Other Woman,” with Semi Chellas.

Austin Film Festival annually recognizes an Outstanding Television Writer for their contribution to the culture of television. Previous recipients include Vince Gilligan, David Simon, Chris Carter, David Milch, Mike Judge, David Chase, and Mitch Hurwitz.

Weiner joins Distinguished Screenwriter honoree, Jim Sheridan, along with a strong roundup of Panelists confirmed to speak at the 21st annual Austin Film Festival & Screenwriters Conference such as Neil LaBute (writer/director The Shape of Things), Terry George (writer/director Hotel Rwanda), Whit Stillman (writer/director Metropolitan), Richard Kelly (writer/director Donnie Darko), Emma Tillinger Koskoff (President of Production at Sikelia Productions), Cary Fukunaga (director True Detective), screenwriters behind American Hustle, The Fault in Their Stars, Saving Mr. Banks, and the creators of Fargo, Masters of Sex, Halt and Catch Fire, TURN, and Better Call Saul.

Additional Conference participants include select jurors from AFF’s Film and Screenplay Competitions. Jurors include representatives from AMC, The Weinstein Company, FilmBuff, Sundance Institute, Oscilloscope, The Black List, P.O.V., and Frank Darabont’s production company, Darkwoods Productions.

For a list of confirmed 2014 Panelists, visit Austin Film Festival and Conference takes place October 23rd through 30th, 2014. Badges and Passes are available for purchase online 24 hours a day at or at 1-800-310-FEST from 10am to 6pm CST.

Austin Film Festival is a non-profit organization dedicated to furthering the art, craft, and business of filmmakers and screenwriters and is funded and supported in part by a grant from the Texas Commission on the Arts, City of Austin Economic Growth & Redevelopment Services Office/Cultural Arts Division believing an investment in the Arts is an investment in Austin’s future.

No comments:

Post a Comment