Thursday, February 27, 2014

Houston Film Critics Name "12 Years a Slave" Their Best Picture of 2013

The Houston Film Critics Society was founded in 2007.  It is a not-for-profit organization of print, broadcast and Internet film critics based in the Greater Metropolitan Houston area.

2013 Houston Film Critics Society winners (in bold) nominees:

Best Picture:
"All is Lost"
"American Hustle"
"Before Midnight"
"Dallas Buyers Club"
"Fruitvale Station"
"Inside Llewyn Davis"
"Saving Mr. Banks"
"12 Years a Slave" WINNER

Best Director:
Joel and Ethan Coen, "Inside Llewyn Davis"
Alfonso CuarĂ³n, "Gravity" WINNER
Paul Greengrass, "Captain Phillips"
Steve McQueen, "12 Years a Slave"
Alexander Payne, "Nebraska"

Best Actor:
Christian Bale, "American Hustle"
Bruce Dern, "Nebraska"
Chiwetel Ejiofor, "12 Years a Slave" WINNER
Matthew McConaughey, "Dallas Buyers Club"
Mads Mikkelsen, "The Hunt"
Robert Redford, "All is Lost"

Best Actress:
Sandra Bullock, "Gravity" WINNER
Judi Dench, "Philomena"
Brie Larson, "Short Term 12"
Meryl Streep, "August: Osage County"
Emma Thompson, "Saving Mr. Banks"

Best Supporting Actor:
Barkhad Abdi, "Captain Phillips"
Michael Fassbender, "12 Years A Slave"
James Gandolfini, "Enough Said"
Jared Leto, "Dallas Buyers Club" WINNER
Matthew McConaughey, "Mud"

Best Supporting Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence, "American Hustle"
Lupita Nyong’o, "12 Years A Slave" WINNER
Octavia Spencer, "Fruitvale Station"
June Squibb, "Nebraska"
Oprah Winfrey, "Lee Daniels’ The Butler"

Best Screenplay:
"American Hustle"
"Before Midnight"
"Inside Llewyn Davis"
"12 Years A Slave" WINNER

Best Animated Film:
"The Croods"
"Despicable Me 2"
"Frozen" WINNER
"Monsters University"
"The Wind Rises"

Best Cinematography:
"All Is Lost
"Gravity" WINNER
"Inside Llewyn Davis"
"12 Years A Slave"

Best Documentary:
"The Act of Killing"
"Inequality for All"
"Stories We Tell"
"20 Feet from Stardom" WINNER

Best Foreign Language Film:
"Blue is the Warmest Color"
"The Grandmaster"
"The Hunt" WINNER
"The Wind Rises"

Best Original Score:
"Gravity" WINNER
"Man of Steel"
"Saving Mr. Banks"
"12 Years a Slave"

Best Original Song:
"I See Fire” from "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug"
"Let It Go” from "Frozen"
"The Moon Song” from "Her"
"Please Mr. Kennedy" from Inside Llewyn Davis" (Written by Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel & Ethan Coen; sung by Justin Timberlake, Oscar Isaac, and Adam Driver) WINNER
"Young and Beautiful" from "The Great Gatsby"


No comments:

Post a Comment