Wednesday, February 5, 2014

"Gravity" Wins Top American Society of Cinematographers Prize

by Amos Semien

The American Society of Cinematographers held its annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement on Saturday, February 1, 2014.  The 28th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement ceremony took place at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.  Awards were given out in five competitive categories.  The big award was the ASC Award for “Feature Film,” which went to Emmanuel Lubezki for his work on director Alfonso Cuaron’s film, Gravity.  This was Lubezki’s third ASC win for feature film, and his fourth overall nomination.

The 2014 / 28th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards (for the year in film and television 2013):

Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC for Gravity

Jeremy Benning, CSC for National Geographic Channel’s Killing Lincoln

Jonathan Freeman, ASC for HBO’s Game of Thrones (“Valar Dohaeris”)

Blake McClure for Comedy Central’s Drunk History (“Detroit”)

Career Achievement in Television Award: Richard Rawlings Jr. (previously announced)

ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction: Beverly Wood

International Achievement Award: Eduardo Serra, AFC, ASC (previously announced)

Board of Governors Award: John Wells (previously announced)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dean Cundey, ASC (previously announced)

Spotlight Award: Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski for Ida


Press release for The American Society of Cinematographers’ official website:

GRAVITY Earns Top Honors from Cinematographers;

KILLING LINCOLN, GAME OF THRONES and DRUNK HISTORY Win in TV Categories; IDA Takes Spotlight Award

LOS ANGELES, February 1, 2014 – Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC; Jeremy Benning, CSC; Jonathan Freeman, ASC, Blake McClure, Lukasz Zal, and Ryszard Lenczewski earned top honors in the five competitive categories at the 28th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement. The ceremony was held here tonight at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Lubezki won the ASC Award in the feature film competition for Gravity. Benning won the TV movie/miniseries award for Killing Lincoln. Freeman took home top honors in the one-hour episodic television category for Game of Thrones, and McClure was the recipient of the half-hour episodic series award for Drunk History. Zal and Lenczewski won the ASC Spotlight Award for Ida.

The ASC Award for best feature was presented by Caleb Deschanel, ASC. Lubezki has won the organization’s top prize twice for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007), and was also nominated for Sleepy Hollow (2000).

The other nominees in the feature film category were Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 Years a Slave, Barry Ackroyd, BSC for Captain Phillips, Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster, Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Inside Llewyn Davis, Phedon Papamichael, ASC for Nebraska, and Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Prisoners.

Debbie Allen presented the Television Movie/Miniseries Award to first-time ASC nominee Benning for National Geographic Channel’s Killing Lincoln.

Also nominated in the Television Movie/Miniseries category were David Luther for Starz Network’s The White Queen (“War at First Hand”), and Ashley Rowe, BSC for Starz Network’s Dancing on the Edge (Episode 1.1).

Actress Niecy Nash presented the Outstanding Achievement Award in the one-hour episodic television category to Freeman for his work on “Valar Dohaeris,” the third season premiere episode of HBO’s Game of Thrones. This is the fourth statue for Freeman who previously won for Boardwalk Empire (2012, 2011) and Homeland Security (2005). He has also earned nominations for another Boardwalk Empire episode (2011), as well as Taken (2003), Strange Justice (2000) and Prince Street (1998).

The other nominees in the one-hour television series category were Steven Bernstein, ASC for Starz Network’s Magic City (“The Sins of the Father”), David Franco for HBO’s Boardwalk Empire (“Erlk├Ânig”), Pierre Gill, CSC for Showtime’s The Borgias (“The Purge”), David Greene, CSC for The CW’s Beauty and the Beast (“Tough Love”), Anette Haellmigk for HBO’s Game of Thrones (“Kissed by Fire”), Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for Fox’s Sleepy Hollow (Pilot), and Ousama Rawi, BSC, CSC for NBC’s Dracula (“The Blood Is the Life”).

Cheryl Ladd presented the half-hour episodic television category award to McClure, also a first-time ASC nominee, for the “Detroit” episode of Comedy Central’s Drunk History.

McClure’s fellow nominees in the half-hour TV category were Peter Levy, ACS, ASC for Showtime’s House of Lies (“The Runner Stumbles”), and Matthew J. Lloyd, CSC for Amazon’s Alpha House (Pilot).

John Bailey, ASC revealed that Zal and Lenczewski earned the ASC’s inaugural Spotlight Award for Ida. The award was created by the organization to recognize outstanding cinematography in features and documentaries typically screened at film festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release. ASC members submitted entries for consideration which went before a Blue Ribbon panel that chose the nominees. All active members voted on the winner. Also nominated for the Spotlight Award was Mark Lee Ping Bing for Renoir, and Camille Cottagnoud for Winter Nomads.

Acclaimed filmmaker John Carpenter presented the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award to Dean Cundey, ASC. Cundey first attracted widespread attention when he teamed with Carpenter on Halloween (1978). The two filmmakers went on to collaborate on The Fog, Escape from New York, The Thing, Halloween II and III, and Big Trouble in Little China. Cundey’s work on Robert Zemeckis’ landmark, live-action film Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988), garnered him both Oscar and BAFTA nominations. Cundey’s credits include the Back to the Future trilogy, Romancing the Stone, Death Becomes Her, Hook, Apollo 13, Jurassic Park, What Women Want, Garfield, The Holiday, The Spy Next Door, Jack and Jill, Crazy Kind of Love, and the upcoming releases Walking with the Enemy and Carry Me Home.

The ASC International Award was presented to Eduardo Serra, AFC, ASC by director Edward Zwick. Serra earned his first Academy Award® nomination for Iain Softley’s The Wings of the Dove (1997), which also netted him a BAFTA Award. In 2004, he received Oscar and BAFTA nominations for Peter Webber’s Girl with the Pearl Earring. His work on such films as Jude, Map of the Human Heart, What Dreams May Come and Funny Bones is highly acclaimed. Serra has over 50 features to his credit, including A Promise, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 and Part 2, Blood Diamond, Beyond the Sea, Unbreakable, and The Widow of Saint-Pierre, among others.

The Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Richard Rawlings, Jr., ASC, by John C. Flinn III, ASC and Michael O’Shea, ASC. Rawlings’ first TV series as a director of photography was in 1978 on Charlie’s Angels. He went on to shoot such memorable series as Matt Houston, Stingray, L.A. Law, Boston Public, Gilmore Girls and Desperate Housewives, among others. He earned Emmy nominations for the series Ohara (1987), Paradise (1988), Reasonable Doubts (1991), and the television movie Big Dreams & Broken Hearts: The Dottie West Story (1995).

The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Beverly Wood, EVP of Technical Services and Client Relations for EFILM, a Deluxe Digital Studios company. The award is presented to an Associate ASC Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion picture industry. In 2012, the organization bestowed the honor to Milt Shefter, owner of Miljoy Ent. Inc., and a motion picture industry consultant on the preservation of moving images, recorded sound and high intrinsic value objects.

Last year, Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC won the ASC feature award for Skyfall.

END of press release


No comments:

Post a Comment