Thursday, May 17, 2018

Writer-Director Tony Gilroy to Be Honored at 2018 Austin Film Festival

Tony Gilroy to Receive “Distinguished Screenwriter” Award at 2018 Austin Film Festival and Writers Conference

“The Writers Festival” Announces “Heart of Film” Award Recipient Daniel Petrie, Jr.

AUSTIN, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Austin Film Festival (AFF), the premier festival that champions the writers’ contributions to film, television, and new media, announced today screenwriter Tony Gilroy as the 2018 recipient of the “Distinguished Screenwriter” Award. Previous honorees of this award have included Lawrence Kasdan, Kenneth Lonergan, Nancy Meyers, and Caroline Thompson.

Tony Gilroy’s credits include the 2007 thriller Michael Clayton, which he wrote and directed. The film earned seven Academy Award® nominations including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Original Screenplay. Additionally, Gilroy worked on the first three Bourne films and co-wrote and directed the fourth film in the franchise. Most recently, he co-wrote the screenplay for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and produced and wrote the political thriller Beirut, starring Jon Hamm and Rosamund Pike.

The Festival also announced that Beverly Hills Cop writer, Daniel Petrie, Jr., will receive the Festival’s second “Heart of Film” Award for his many contributions to film and television and his service to the screenwriting community.

Petrie’s screenplay credits include Beverly Hills Cop and The Big Easy. In 2006 he co-founded Enderby Entertainment with producer Rick Dugdale. Petrie has an extensive history of volunteer service to the entertainment industry, including two terms as the president of the Writers Guild of America West. Petrie has been participating as a panelist at Austin Film Festival for over 20 years and serves on the organization’s Board of Advisors.

Gilroy and Petrie join already announced “Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking” recipient Roger Corman.

The 25th annual Austin Film Festival and Writers Conference runs October 25 – November 2, 2018. Confirmed panelists include Megan Amram (writer The Good Place), William Broyles Jr. (co-writer Apollo 13), Lee Eisenberg (writer The Office), and many more. Panelists continue to be confirmed; the list can be found at

Austin Film Festival (AFF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to furthering the art, craft and business of writers and filmmakers and recognizing their contributions to film, television and new media. This project is supported in part by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department and the Texas Commission on the Arts.


No comments:

Post a Comment